Saved by the Kettlebell

Saved by the Kettlebell

Life throws curve balls at everyone at some point, sometimes one after another. That’s what happened to me beginning 2006: my mother passed away suddenly; three years later my brother died of an accident. I constantly felt overwhelmed with a stressful social service job, as I struggled to carve out a more hopeful future. In May 2011, I was at my heaviest and unhealthiest, physically and mentally — standing at 5’2″, I weighed in at 141 pounds at 34% body fat percentage. I felt broken despite having a boyfriend and friends around me, and often turned to food for comfort. I knew I needed help. I decided to sign up for personal training at a local gym, where I worked out at least three times a week. With the help of a trainer, I started eating better. By October 2011, I found myself at 116 pounds, stronger, able to rock…

View original post 548 more words

Leave a Reply

